Had a bad day – I have the cure

10 Oct

Elle Woods, pictured on the poster for the fil...
Image via Wikipedia

Whenever I have a bad day, the kind that crushes your spirit, when a pint of Haagen Dazs or a bottle of Vodka won’t do the trick try watching the movie

Legally Blonde”  with Reese Witherspoon.  From the opening notes of “Perfect Day” to the perfect ending, you can’t help but get caught up in Elle Woods infectious upbeat spirit. No matter who tells her she can’t, she doesn’t listen, she believes in herself and perseveres. In the end she proves everyone wrong, I won’t reveal her many success if you have not seen the movie.

The movie touches on many themes, nothing we haven’t seen before, but it is Witherspoon’s inspired performance that raises this movie to a level of inspiration usually reserved for “Rocky“.  Granted she isn’t as poor as Rocky, but adversity like most things in life is relative, and the obstacles she faces might as well be as tough as running the stairs at the Philadelphia Art Museum.

You know what really bugs me are people who diminish how I feel by pointing out someone who has it worse than me. Guess what, I know I should count my blessings, blah blah blah, but I don’t care. Right now I have it pretty crappy and if you can’t support my moment then move along.

It’s what I do after my moment that counts, do I pick myself up and dust myself off, well yes I do, because that is what Elle Woods would do. This movie reminds me to do just that, get to the Harvard bookstore and buy a laptop in my Playboy Bunny Halloween costume and prove the world wrong.

If you need a pick me up that won’t make you fat and inspire you to take control of your life and not let anyone deter you from your goals. Then Legally Blonde is just what the doctor ordered.

What is your favorite pick me up movie? Head to the comments with your suggestions.

Leave a Reply

