Blue Bloods for Mom and Dad

15 Oct

NYPD patch, first introduced in 1971

Image via Wikipedia

Most women my age have to face the inevitable “when are you going to get married and give me grandchildren” questions from their mother. Well not my mother, she keeps asking me” when are you going to talk about Blue Bloods on your blog”.  Well mom, this post is for you.

Blue Bloods on CBS Friday’s at 10, is it in its second season, it is a solid police drama centered on the lives of the multi-generational Reagan family  (Tom Selleck as Frank Reagan, Bridget Moynahan as Erin Reagan, Donnie Wahlberg as Danny Reagan Len Cariou as Henry Reagan) and their dedication to the New York City Police Department.

Blue Bloods has pedigree, it was created by Robin Green and Mitchell Burgess, best known for their work on The Sopranos. Like the Sopranos, the heart of Blue Bloods is family.  Whatever cases may play out weekly, it is the interactions between the Reagan’s that make this show compelling. The bond between father and child, brother and sister are refreshing and lend balance to what could otherwise be written off as another cop show.

Last night’s episode was no different, Erin and her brother Danny staking out Erin’s daughter, Nicky’s group outing, was a sweet moment between brother and sister. Something not seen as much as I would like on Tv today.

I have only watched 5 episodes, and in those Tom Selleck’s character consistently demonstrates a high level of integrity and ethics, also not seen that much on Tv today. Hats off to Donnie Wahlberg, he has come a long way from New Kids on The Block, I would even dare to say that his acting surpasses that of his brother Mark.

If you are looking for a solid drama, that is just the right amount of cop show and family drama then Blue Bloods is for you. Based on its solid performance in the ratings, it averages 9-10 million viewers a week my guess is you are already watching.

7 Responses to “Blue Bloods for Mom and Dad”

  1. ROSE October 15, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    your entire blog is great – and now to find a quality show like Blue Bloods – a bonus –
    as usual your analysis and comments hit the mark –

    because of your blog I am checking out shows and my tv viewing is becoming more
    eclectic –

    I really enjoy your wrting about life –

  2. Elizabeth October 16, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    Spot on review of Blue Bloods. I’ve been watching since last season and love the family value the show and Reagan family brings to the screen. I love what a strong character each one is especially Tom Selleck and Donnie Wahlberg.

    Thanks for posting and sharing. Now that I’ve discovered a fellow Tv gal I’ll be visiting/reading more often – hope you’ll do the same. 🙂

    • tvhappyplace9463 October 16, 2011 at 2:49 am #

      Hi Elizabeth, thanks for commenting on my post. Love to have another partner in TV crime. I will definitely be visiting your blog as well.

      • Elizabeth October 16, 2011 at 2:51 am #

        I just realized that the link went to the blog I’m shutting down – the one you were at earlier RockyCoastRamblings.com is the one I’ll be doing my TV posting at 🙂 Too many blogs to keep track of 🙂

  3. tvhappyplace9463 October 16, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    Ok, I will follow Rocky Coast, thanks for letting me know.

    • Elizabeth October 16, 2011 at 2:56 am #

      lol – you bet – sorry that was confusing. I’m working closing down 3 of the 4 I was writing – much easier to manage just 1. 🙂

Leave a Reply

