Gilmore Girls – A Happy Place

11 Dec

When I am going thru a difficult time in my life I have found that a marathon of a TV show helps my sub-conscious process whatever is going on that my conscious mind is trying to avoid.

I am going thru one of those periods right now.  To sooth my brain,  I have been obsessively watching Gilmore Girls. In the past Buffy was my security blanket, but this time vampires, demons and sarcasm aren’t doing it for me.  

I have seen all episodes of the Gilmore Girls before, I know the stories and the players, but living it again is comforting. Perhaps it is how neurotic Lorelai is, it makes me feel normal.  Getting to watch Rory move from high school to college and remembering how much fun and easy life was then could be the draw.  If I had the choice, I would go back to 1988-1989, best year ever, not only personally, but fashion, music, movies, it was a great year.

Back to GG, perhaps it is the town of Stars Hollow itself, who wouldn’t love to live in a town like that, small, quaint, beautiful New England, with interesting people.  They have so many fun town events, everyone is there for one another, supporting each other thru good and bad times. A real community.

The show is smart and well written, great pop culture references that don’t lose their relevance over time. Granted the last few seasons where a little dodgy, especially the whole Lorelai and Christopher thing in the finale season. We all knew Luke and Lorelai were the end game, the detour was a waste.  I guess what I like best, is this show has no intrigue, no murder, no backstabbing, no time travel, it is charming show with heart about life. 

If you have never seen Gilmore Girls, or haven’t watched it for a while you should check it out. SoapNet is running repeats, or you can buy an episode at a time from Amazon and iTunes, or rent the DVDs from Netflix.

If you don’t have time to watch every episode, here is a list of the best.

I always recommend watching the first two episodes of any show whether they are good or bad, just to get the lay of the land.

From there you can go here

Season 1

Christopher Returns – we are introduced to Rory’s father

Emily in Wonderland

P.S. I Love You

Love, Daisies and Troubadours

Season 2

Red Light on the Wedding Night

The Road Trip To Harvard

Nick&Nora/Sid&Nancy – Jess, Luke’s nephew comes to Stars Hollow, he is a bad boy and Rory is immediately drawn to him. Start of Big trouble, and big love for Rory.

A-Tisket, A- Tasket – more of the Rory/Jess romance

It Should Have Been Lorelai

Lost and Found

Teach Me Tonight – Rory and Jess have a car accident

Help Wanted – Rory tries to convince Jess wasn’t at fault for the accident

I Can’t Get Started – Sookie’s wedding day, Jess and Rory share a pivotal moment and Christopher gets life changing news from his girlfriend.

Season 3

Pretty much every episode in this season is outstanding, this is a pivotal year for the characters and their relationships.

Two standouts , “They Shoot Gilmore’s Don’t They”, “That’ll Do Pig” and “Dear Emily and Richard”

Season 4

Rory heads off to Yale. The tone of the show changed a lot in this season, and it didn’t regain the magic of season three until Season 5. You could read the recaps and skip watching these episodes.

Season 5

Finally we get the Luke and Lorelai romance we have been waiting for, but brace your self for the heartbreak.  Episode 13 is when is all unravels, I would watch the second half of the season in its entirety.

Season 6

The beginning of the end, Rory and Lorelai have another fallout, Rory moves in with her grandparents and Luke finds out he has a 12 year old daughter he never knew about.  I know they went there, this of course breaks him and Loralia up and I break up with the show.

Season 7

I watched to see it through, but it was never the same again.

Stick with seasons 1 thru 5

Her are some fan made clip montages

Leave a Reply

