TV Season Half Way Thru – Let’s Discuss

12 Dec

We are halfway thru the 2011-2012 TV season, so I thought now would be a good time to share our thoughts on where we are so far.  Did the shows you were psyched for let you down? What shows looked like they were going to fail but totally surprised you? 

Shows that lived up to my expectations

2 Broke Girls – I had high hopes for this show,a sassy chick comedy. It took a few episodes but I am sold. The jokes are pretty raunchy, and the premise is pretty thin, but Kat Dennings and Beth Behers make it work.  What still isn’t working for me is Oleg, the cook. I wish he was a little more Mel from Alice and a lot less pervy.

American Horror Story – A big fan of Ryan Murphy‘s Nip/Tuck days (until the Carver), I had high hope for this show, not to mention the strength of a cast including Connie Britton and Jessica Lange and Mr. Murphy delivered. This is by far the most creative and daring show on basic cable. 

Once Upon A Time – I don’t know why, I mean it is a pretty silly sounding premise, but I knew this would be good. From the writing, to the acting to the outstanding production values this show has delivered as expected.  Robert Carlyle and Lana Parilla would be nominated for Emmy’s if it wasn’t such a political mess.

Ringer – I expected a good noir thriller, with many twists and turns and that is what I got. What makes Ringer more successful in my eyes is, it doesn’t take itself too seriously and they move the plot along at a quick clip.

Shows that surprised me

A Gifted Man – I have to admit the premise sounded pretty cheesy. Egotistical doctor gets schooled by the ghost of his saintly x-wife, but Patrick Wilson makes it work and the show is watchable. I hope it gets a second season there is a lot of potential, and a lot of room to grow these characters and the storylines.

Hart of Dixie – I was on board from the beginning, but I am genuinely surprised at how much I am loving this show.  The writers have come a long way since the pilot, and are giving as much time and attention to fleshing out the supporting characters and relationships as their leads.  More George and Wade, more Lavon and Zoe friendship, and for the love of god give Lemon a few more layers. Shrill,, shriller, shrillest is not depth.

Homeland – Actually I would say this show completely blew me away. (No Pun intended).  Claire Danes is flat-out amazing, I hope she is recognized later this week at the SAG Award nominations and next fall at the Emmy’s.  Since this comes from the creators of 24, I would not put it past them to blow up Sgt. Brody in the finale.  Just like Jack Bauer Carrie can have a new foe every season.

Revenge – I thought this would be fun, a return to the days of Dallas and Dynasty. But this is far more advanced, and polished.  Thank you for the best guilty pleasure since, birthday cake and ice cream.

Suburgatory – The premise, a basic fish out of water story. What makes this one different, the cast, Jeremy Sisto and Jane Levy are great as our fish. But Cheryl Hines and Carly Chaikin as mother and daughter Dallas and Dalia steal the show.

Shows that disappointed, and I wouldn’t miss if the got cancelled

Grimm – Sorry, it isn’t settling, the characters, the stories, it just doesn’t work.

Secret Circle – nothing to say, please go away now.

Leave a Reply

