Saw 4 Movies this weekend

18 Dec

I saw 4 movies this weekend, Young Adult, Sherlock Holmes:Game of Shadows, The Descendants and Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol.

Young Adult: Charlize Theron was very good, the script was a mess, the direction uneven. I think Diablo Cody was a one hit wonder with Juno.  It’s got a pretty high rating on Rotten Tomatoes, so I guess I am just not hip enough to get it.

Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows: First of all let me say this, Robert Downey Jr, is one of those actors who has such screen presence that I would go watch him sit and read the phone book for 2 hours.  The sequel is better than the orignal, the story is tighter and the villan far more interesting. Noomi Rapace (the original Lisbeth Salander), was pretty much wasted, but now that she has landed her first big Hollywood film, I hope there are many more to come.

As was the case with the first  movie, the relationship between Holmes (RDJ) and Watson (Jude Law) make the movie, their scenes are some of the best. Brilliant casting adding Stephen Fry as Holmes brother, hope he will be back for the next installment.

The Descendants: This is a beautiful film, the script is tight, it is sad and funny in all the right places. And George Clooney turns in the performance of this career.  He has come a long way since his days on the The Facts of Life and Roseanne. unfortunately I am still pulling for this to be Brad Pitt‘s year, Moneyball was an incredible performance.  George has an Oscar ( supporting), but still he had one, lets give Brad his. He should have won for 12 Monkey’s, Kalifornia, Legends of The Fall, or A River Runs Through It. 

Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol:  Saw this in true IMAX, which means I got to see The Dark Knight Rises prologue. And let me tell you, if this is the first 6 minutes I can’t wait to see the rest. I know a lot of people are complaining about Bane’s dialogue and I will admit it was difficult to understand him in parts. I hope that the outcry on the net will make it back to Mr. Nolan and they work this out before next July.  

MI4 was awesome, Cruise does what he does best, action hero, carrying a huge movie. All of the cast are fantastic, Simon Pegg, Paula Patton and Jeremy Renner was terrific. The action sequences were incredible, I was on the edge of my seat, the scene when Cruise scales the building in Dubai is white knuckle fun. Do your self a favor and see this in a real IMAX theatre, here is a link to a list so you can find one in your area.

Leave a Reply

